minimalism challenge day 1

I want to say things that I should throw away are all in the category of non-consumables. But I have to say that I have plenty of consumables that are lying there not being consumed.

For example, yesterday I just ruined a whole batch of lentil soup because I decided to add the rarely used chia meal into it. It made the lentil soup taste weird and bitter, and after some Google searching I realised that chia meal goes bad just about the same time bread does, and I learned the difference between chia seeds and chia meal. Basically, the seeds store much longer, and the meal is just pointless. I almost decided to brave the soup, but I eventually decided better not sick – they were only lentils.

Anyways, what should be the first thing I should throw away?

Something I never use and has no use whatsoever in the future. I don’t want to throw away anything with sentimental value yet, so I will start with something that I am not attached to at all.

I’ll start with items in the kitchen.

  1. An extra whisk – who knew I had two. I rarely use whisks. I don’t remember the last time I made good use of it. Easy choice.

Now that we are in the kitchen, I want to talk about lentil soup.

Lentils are one of my favourite food, not necessarily because I like its taste the most, but it is one of the easiest to prepare and has good nutritious value.

The way I usually cook them is in the form of soup, and I have only two tips. One, use fresh ingredients. Because anything that has gone bad will make the soup bad. I learned this the hard way when I put in gone-bad chia meal into my lentil soup and I just couldn’t save it. Two, is to make sure that ingredients do not stick at the bottom of the pan – which normally requires no constant checking as long as you have enough water.

You can stick with safe ingredients like onion, garlic, tomatoes, celery, salt and pepper.

But if you don’t have those, and don’t mind being a little more adventurous, you can try eggs, broccoli, rice… You might however be a bit more careful about the timing when you add those though. I’d add those towards the end. Experiment. Left-over pasta sauce with no pasta to cook them with…

It takes about an hour for the lentils to cook and soften for it to be considered a soup, but if you are in a hurry, the lentils finish cooking around 30 ro 40 minutes, 35 minutes at least in boiling (then simmering) water to be safe.Always better to overcook lentils than undercook them – you never want to have to brave through undercooked lentils.

The first time I cooked lentil soup was at university. And has been a staple ever since. Always good served alone or with rice. I often cook more so I could store leftovers in the fridge. I would finish it within two days. Again, lentil soup is easy to prepare, the only thing you want to be careful of is you want to add fresh and good ingredients.

Leave a Reply

